International bilingual summer school, American University of Beirut, 22.–24. September 2017

Practicing ‘Blickwechsel’: Entangled Perspectives on Theory, Arts, and History in the Field of Arabic Literary Studies

How can approaches exploring historical entanglements be translated to the fields of Literature, Art and Cultural Studies? What is gained when we, moving beyond strict national and cultural boundaries, focus attention on exchange and transfer? Where are the limits of entangled history and what roles do untranslatability, foreignness and forgetting play?

Group picture 2017
Group picture 2017

The participants of the summer school discussed excerpts from Hans Belting’s “Florenz und Bagdad: Eine westöstliche Geschichte des Blicks” (“Florence and Baghdad: Renaissance Art and Arab Science”, 2008) and Abdelfattah Kilito’s “لن تتكلم لغتي” (“Thou Shalt Not Speak My Language”, 2002) to examine these and other questions and specify Hans Belting’s understanding of ‘Blickwechsel’ (‘changing perspectives’). The research projects of the Phd students and postdocs showed both the possibilities of these concepts as well as their limits. The program was complemented by guest lectures by Prof Charbel Dagher (University of Balamand) on the ‘visual’ in modern Arabic poetry and Prof Mahmoud al-Batal (American University of Beirut) on the challenges posed by academic Arabic for native speakers, accompanied with a call for new teaching methods.

Working group 2017
Working group 2017

Ten junior and four senior scholars from Egypt, Germany, Italy, Lebanon, Morocco and Sweden took part in the summer school. As part of the research projects of the Arab-German Young Academy of Sciences and Humanities it was generously funded by the German Federal Ministry for Education and Research.

Plenary discussion 2017
Plenary discussion 2017

 

Videos

Lecture given by Prof. Mahmoud al-Batal (American University of Beirut): “نحو ربيع عربي لغوي: تعليم العربية وتعلمها بين تحديات الواقع وآفاق المستقبل” (“Towards an Arab Spring in Language: Teaching Arabic and Learning Arabic between the Challenges of Reality and the Horizons of the Future”; Arabic)

Lecture given by Prof. Charbel Dagher (University of Balamand): “‚بصرية‘ القصيدة العربية الحديثة بين بدر شاكر السياب ومحمد الماغوط” (“The ‘Visuality’ of the Modern Arabic Poem, from Badr Shākir as-Sayyāb to Muḥammad al-Māghūṭ”; Arabic)

 

Program

Detailed reports:

Internationale zweisprachige Sommerschule, American University of Beirut, 22.–24. September 2017

Practicing ‚Blickwechsel‘: Entangled Perspectives on Theory, Arts, and History in the Field of Arabic Literary Studies

Wie lassen sich verflechtungsgeschichtliche Ansätze auf Literatur-, Kunst- und Kulturwissenschaft übertragen? Was gewinnen wir, wenn wir, jenseits strikter nationaler und kultureller Grenzen, das Augenmerk auf Austausch und Transfer legen? Wo liegen die Grenzen der Verflechtungsgeschichte und welche Rolle spielen dabei Unübersetzbarkeit, Fremdheit und Vergessen?

Gruppenphoto 2017
Gruppenphoto 2017

Die TeilnehmerInnen der Sommerschule diskutierten Auszüge aus Hans Beltings „Florenz und Bagdad. Eine westöstliche Geschichte des Blicks“ (2008) und Abdelfattah Kilitos „لن تتكلم لغتي“ (Du wirst nicht meine Sprache sprechen, 2002), um diese und weitere Fragen zu beleuchten und den Begriff des „Blickwechsels“ im Verständnis von Hans Belting zu präzisieren. In den Forschungsvorhaben der DoktorandInnen und Postdocs zeigten sich die Möglichkeiten ebenso wie die Grenzen dieser Konzepte. Ergänzt wurde das Programm durch Gastvorträge von Prof. Charbel Dagher (University of Balamand) zum ‚Visuellen‘ in der modernen arabischen Dichtung und von Prof. Mahmoud al-Batal (American University of Beirut) zu Herausforderungen von Wissenschaftsarabisch für MuttersprachlerInnen, verbunden mit einem Plädoyer für eine neue Sprachlehre.

Arbeitsgruppe 2017
Arbeitsgruppe 2017

An der Sommerschule nahmen zehn NachwuchswissenschaftlerInnen und vier ProfessorInnen aus Ägypten, Deutschland, Italien, Libanon, Marokko und Schweden teil. Im Rahmen der Forschungsprojekte der Arab German Young Academy of Sciences and Humanities wurde sie gefördert vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung.

Plenardiskussion 2017
Plenardiskussion 2017

 

Videos

Vortrag Prof. Mahmoud al-Batal (American University of Beirut): „نحو ربيع عربي لغوي: تعليم العربية وتعلمها بين تحديات الواقع وآفاق المستقبل“ („Wege zu einem Arabischen Frühling in der Sprachlehre“; Arabisch)

Vortrag Prof. Charbel Dagher (University of Balamand): „‚بصرية‘ القصيدة العربية الحديثة بين بدر شاكر السياب ومحمد الماغوط“ („Die ‚Visualität‘ des modernen arabischen Gedichts, von Badr Šākir as-Sayyāb bis Muḥammad al-Māġūṭ“; Arabisch)

 

Programm

Für ausführliche Berichte siehe: