International bilingual summer school, Freie Universität Berlin, 15.–17. March 2014

Arabic Philology and Cultural Studies

Does Arabic philology furnish elements for Cultural Studies? And to what extent do contemporary Cultural Studies need philology? What relevance do concepts prevalent in Cultural Studies such as ambiguity, acculturation and hybridization have for the various research fields of Arabic Studies? How can they be made fruitful for individual research?

Group picture 2014
Group picture 2014

These and similar questions were the topic of at times controversial discussions during the first summer school. The fundamental texts serving discussion were excerpts from Thomas Bauer’s “Die Kultur der Ambiguität: Eine andere Geschichte des Islams” (“The Culture of Ambiguity: An Alternative History of Islam”, 2011) and Samy Soliman’s “التمثل الثقافي وتلقي الأنواع الأدبية الحديثة: تجربة النقد العربي في النصف الثاني من القرن التاسع عشر” (“Cultural Appropriation and Reception of Modern Literary Genres: The Experience of Arab Criticism in the Second Half of the Nineteenth Century”, 2014). Extremely productive was the broad spectrum of approaches taken by the young scholars in their research projects: with a variety of disciplines represented, texts were interpreted employing both the methods of Literary Studies in the narrower sense and the broader reach of Cultural Studies, while intellectual inspiration ranged from the philosophy of language through to political philosophy and political science.

Working group 2014
Working group 2014

The summer school took place following an exploratory workshop during which the conception of the summer school program and innovative research approaches were discussed. Amongst the participants were eleven professors and sixteen junior scholars from universities in Egypt, Germany, Great Britain, Lebanon, Morocco, Norway, Syria and the USA. The workshop was generously funded by the Volkswagen​Stiftung.

Plenary discussion 2014
Plenary discussion 2014

 

Program

Detailed reports:

Internationale zweisprachige Sommerschule, Freie Universität Berlin, 15.–17. März 2014

Arabic Philology and Cultural Studies

Liefert die arabische Philologie Elemente für eine Kulturwissenschaft? Und inwieweit benötigt die zeitgenössische Kulturwissenschaft die Philologie? Welche Bedeutung haben kulturwissenschaftliche Konzepte wie Ambiguität, Akkulturation und Hybridisierung in den unterschiedlichen Forschungsfeldern der Arabistik? Wie können sie für die eigene Forschung fruchtbar gemacht werden?

Gruppenphoto 2014
Gruppenphoto 2014

Diese und ähnliche Fragen wurden in der ersten Sommerschule durchaus kontrovers diskutiert. Als Grundlagentexte dienten Auszüge aus Thomas Bauers „Die Kultur der Ambiguität. Eine andere Geschichte des Islams“ (2011) und Samy Solimans „التمثل الثقافي وتلقي الأنواع الأدبية الحديثة. تجربة النقد العربي في النصف الثاني من القرن التاسع عشر“ (Kulturelle Aneignung und Rezeption moderner literarischer Gattungen in der zweiten Hälfte des 19. Jahrhunderts, 2014). Überaus produktiv war dabei das breite Spektrum der disziplinären Zugänge der von den NachwuchswissenschaftlerInnen vorgestellten Forschungsvorhaben, von literaturwissenschaftlichen Ansätzen im engeren Sinne über kunstwissenschaftliche Zugänge zu Texten, von Sprachphilosophie über politische Philosophie bis zu Brückenschlägen zur Politikwissenschaft.

Arbeitsgruppe 2014
Arbeitsgruppe 2014

Die Sommerschule fand im Anschluss an einen Vorbereitungsworkshop statt, im Rahmen dessen die Konzeption des Sommerschulprogramms erörtert und richtungsweisende Forschungsansätze diskutiert wurden. Unter den TeilnehmerInnen waren elf ProfessorInnen und sechzehn NachwuchswissenschaftlerInnen von Universitäten in Ägypten, Deutschland, Großbritannien, Libanon, Marokko, Norwegen, Syrien und den USA teil. Gefördert wurde die Veranstaltung durch die VolkswagenStiftung.

Plenardiskussion 2014
Plenardiskussion 2014

 

Programm

Für ausführliche Berichte siehe: