International bilingual summer school, Mohammed V University in Rabat, 1–3 November 2018

Emotions that Matter: Interdisciplinary Approaches to Feeling, Affect, and Body in Arabic Literature, Arts, and Culture

What role do emotions and affects play in literature and culture? How has the “emotional/affective turn” changed our understanding of literature, culture and society? How do the related theories and methods cast new light on the themes covered by old genres such as elegy, satire and love poetry? And which social practices and historical discourses gain (new) relevance as a result?

Group picture 2018
Group picture 2018

The research projects of the PhD students and postdocs illustrated impressively the versatility and relevance of approaches to emotion, affect, and body in various research fields, from emotional communities in the Abbasid court society and affective trance in Algerian Sufi rituals to modern kitchen affects in North Africa and concepts of emotion in classical Sufi philosophy. In plenary sessions, the participants of the summer school discussed concepts of body and soma, based on excerpts from the book-length study “الجسد والصورة ‏والمقدس في الإسلام” (“The Body, the Image, and the Sacred in Islam”, 1999) by Farid Zahi, as well as approaches to affects and migration, taking Gretchen Head’s article “‘The Sea Spits Out Corpses’: Peripherality, Genre, and Affect in the Cosmopolitan Mediterranean” (2015) as a starting point.

Working group 2018 A
Working group 2018 A

The program was complemented by two guest lectures by scholars from the host university: The eminent Moroccan scholar and author Abdelfattah Kilito gave a keynote lecture titled “شعرية الخطأ” (“The Poetics of Error”). An interdisciplinary approach was added by Abdelhay Moudden (Political Science Department) who presented a lecture based on research conducted together with Taieb Belghazi (Cultural Studies Department) titled “تصوير الماضي ‏الأليم: المصالحة السينمائية” (“Visualizing the Painful Past: Reel Conciliation”).

Working group 2018 B-1
Working group 2018 B-1

The summer school brought together fourteen junior and seven senior scholars from Algeria, Egypt, Germany, Italy, Lebanon, Morocco, Nigeria, Switzerland, the United Kingdom and the USA. Randa Aboubakr (Cairo University), Lale Behzadi (University of Bamberg), Julia Bray (University of Oxford) and Fatiha Taïb (Mohammed V University in Rabat) acted as mentors to the junior scholars.

Working group 2018 B-2
Working group 2018 B-2

As part of the research projects of the Arab-German Young Academy of Sciences and Humanities (AGYA) the summer school was generously funded by the German Federal Ministry for Education and Research.

Program (PDF).

Detailed reports:

Internationale zweisprachige Sommerschule, Université Mohammed V de Rabat, 1.–3. November 2018

Emotions that Matter: Interdisciplinary Approaches to Feeling, Affect, and Body in Arabic Literature, Arts, and Culture

Welche Rolle spielen Emotionen und Affekte in Literatur und Kultur? Wie verändert der „emotional/affective turn“ unser Verständnis von Literatur, Kultur und Gesellschaft? Wie können neue Theorien und Methoden ein neues Licht auf alte Themen wie Trauer-, Spott- oder Liebesdichtung werfen? Und welche sozialen Praktiken und historischen Diskurse gewinnen dadurch an (neuer) Relevanz?

Gruppenphoto 2018
Gruppenphoto 2018

Die Forschungsprojekte der DoktorandInnen und Postdocs zeigten eindrucksvoll die Vielfalt und Relevanz der Forschung zu Emotion, Affekt und Körper in unterschiedlichen Forschungsfeldern, von ‘emotional communities’ in der höfischen Gesellschaft der Abbasidenzeit über Trance in Sufi-Ritualen in Algerien und Affekte rund um die moderne Küche in Nordafrika bis zur Konzeptualisierung von Emotion in klassischer sufischer Philosophie. In theoretischen Sitzungen diskutierten die TeilnehmerInnen unterschiedliche Körperkonzepte anhand von Auszügen aus Farid Zahis Buch “الجسد والصورة والمقدس في الإسلام” (“Der Körper, das Bild und das Sakrale im Islam”, 1999) sowie Perspektiven auf Affekte und Migration, ausgehend von Gretchen Heads Aufsatz “‘The Sea Spits Out Corpses’: Peripherality, Genre, and Affect in the Cosmopolitan Mediterranean” (2015).

Arbeitsgruppe 2018 A
Arbeitsgruppe 2018 A

Ergänzt wurde das Programm durch zwei Gastvorträge von Wissenschaftlern der gastgebenden Universität: Der bedeutende marokkanische Wissenschaftler und Autor Abdelfattah Kilito hielt eine Keynote Lecture mit dem Titel “شعرية الخطأ” (“Die Poetik des Fehlers”). Aus politik- und kulturwissenschaftlicher Perspektive sprach Abdelhay Moudden (Politikwissenschaft) über Ergebnisse eines interdisziplinären, gemeinsam mit Taieb Belghazi (Cultural Studies) durchgeführten Forschungsprojekts zu “تصوير الماضي الأليم: المصالحة السينمائية” (“Die Visualisierung der schmerzhaften Vergangenheit: Filmische Versöhnung”).

Arbeitsgruppe 2018 B-1
Arbeitsgruppe 2018 B-1

Die Sommerschule versammelte vierzehn NachwuchswissenschaftlerInnen und sieben ProfessorInnen aus Ägypten, Algerien, Deutschland, Großbritannien, Italien, Libanon, Marokko, Nigeria, der Schweiz und den USA. Die Mentorinnen waren Randa Aboubakr (Universität Kairo), Lale Behzadi (Universität Bamberg), Julia Bray (Universität Oxford) und Fatiha Taïb (Mohammed V-​Universität Rabat).

Arbeitsgruppe 2018 B-2
Arbeitsgruppe 2018 B-2

Im Rahmen der Forschungsprojekte der Arab German Young Academy of Sciences and Humanities (AGYA) wurde die Sommerschule gefördert vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung.

Programm (PDF)

Für ausführliche Berichte siehe: